EAG News

Goldschmidt2018: call for sessions

G18_logo_100The Goldschmidt Conference has become the most important forum for the discussion of recent results in geochemistry and related fields, and we hope to maintain that tradition with another excellent program in 2018. The science committee and theme leaders have identified 14 broad themes, and the entire geochemistry community is now invited to submit suggestions for sessions through November 1. Get started by reviewing the submission instructions.

2018 Awards: deadlines are approaching

Recognition of scientific excellence at all stages of one’s career is crucial. Should you know of deserving colleagues, nominate them for an EAG Award or GS/EAG Fellowship. We also provide guidance on how to write a nomination and support letter.

  • GS-EAG Geochemical Fellowship: recognizes scientists who have made major contributions to the field of geochemistry. Nomnination deadline is 31 October.
  • Urey Award: recognizes scientific excellence over a career. Nomnination deadline is 15 November.
  • Science Innovation Award (named after Nicholas Shackleton for his work in climatology): recognizes scientists within 30 years from the start of PhD. Nomnination deadline is 15 November.
  • Houtermans Award: recognizes scientists within 12 years from the start of PhD. Nomnination deadline is 15 November.
  • Berner Lecture Award: recognizes mid-career scientists. Nomination deadline is 15 November.

Contribute to EAG and help us do more

The European Association of Geochemistry firmly believes in the global availability of science. To this end, we have developed several initiatives ranging from open access community publications, support to early career scientists, or outreach programs. We’ve identified three particular initiatives where your contribution would allow us to do more:

EAG Latest Publications


GPL1739_abstract_100Rapid decrease of MgAlO2.5 component in bridgmanite with pressure
Z. Liu, T. Ishii, T. Katsura

The solubility of the MgAlO2.5 component in bridgmanite was measured at pressures of 27, 35 and 40 GPa and a temperature of 2000 oK using an ultra-high pressure multi-anvil press. Compositional analysis of recovered samples demonstrated that the MgAlO2.5 component decreases with increasing pressure, and approaches virtually zero at 40 GPa. […]

GPL1737_abstract_100The solubility of heat-producing elements in Earth’s core
I. Blanchard, J. Siebert, S. Borensztajn J. Badro

The long term thermal and dynamic evolution of Earth’s core depends on its energy budget, and models have shown that radioactive decay due to K and U disintegration can contribute significantly to core dynamics and thermal evolution if substantial amounts of heat-producing elements are dissolved in the core during differentiation. […]

GPL1735_abstract_100Magma dynamics of ancient Mt. Etna inferred from clinopyroxene isotopic and trace element systematics
S.A. Miller, M. Myers, M.F. Fahnestock, J. Bryce, J. Blichert-Toft

Dynamic magmatic processes driving volcanic eruptions, including melting, fractionation, and assimilation, provide critical insights into plumbing systems supporting long-lived magmatism. Here we describe an approach combining in situ elemental analyses in clinopyroxene phenocrysts, integrated thermobarometry models […]


GPv6n1_100Future Global Mineral Resources
Nicholas T. Arndt, Lluís Fontboté, Jeffrey W. Hedenquist, Stephen E. Kesler, John F.H. Thompson and Daniel G. Wood

In this issue of Geochemical Perspectives, six authors with wide experience in ore deposit research, exploration and production present an optimistic but realistic appraisal of future mineral resources. They describe how ore deposits form, and how they are found, assessed, mined and processed. They discuss the critical differences between mineral reserves and resources, how economic and societal factors influence supply, and the critical roles that geoscientists will continue to play. The authors argue that mineral resources will remain adequate well into the future.

EAG Tweets

Comments are closed.