About the F.G. Houtermans Award

The F.G. Houtermans award is bestowed annually to a scientist within 12 years from the start of PhD, which must be completed. Eligibility is determined by the status of the candidate at the close of the year in which nominations are received and not the year the award is presented; hence, for the 2021 F.G. Houtermans Award, candidates should have started their PhD in 2008 at the earliest.

The award recognizes a single exceptional contribution to geochemistry, published as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic. It is named in honor of Friedrich Georg Houtermans, a Dutch-Austrian-German physicist.

The award is presented annually at the Goldschmidt Conference. The award consists of an engraved medal, an honorarium (1000 Euros) and a certificate.

Recipient of the 2021 Houtermans Award: Paolo Sossi

ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Paolo Sossi is recognized for his important contribution to isotope geochemistry and experimental geochemistry applied to the understanding of early solar irradiation, planet formation and differentiation, and quantifying the fractionation of isotopes of metals during planetary evaporation and core formation. Read more

The 2021 Houtermans Award will be presented at the Goldschmidt2021 Conference.

Former recipients of the Houtermans Award