Urey Award

Recipient of the 2017 Urey Award:

Eiji Ohtani, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

Eiji Ohtani is Emeritus Professor of Department of Earth Science, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan. Currently, he is also Distinguished Affiliated Professor, University of Bayreuth, Germany, Visiting Research Scientist of Sobolev Institute of Geology and Mineralogy, Russian Academy of Science, Novosibirsk, Russia, Guest Professor at the China University of Geosciences (Wuhan), China, and Visiting Professor of Center for Integrated Research and Education of Natural Hazards, Shizuoka University, Shizuoka, Japan. Read more

Make a nomination for the 2018 Urey Award by 15 November 2017

About the Urey Award

The Urey Award is bestowed annually by the society for outstanding contributions advancing geochemistry over a career. The award is based solely on scientific merit and is presented at the V.M. Goldschmidt Conference. The award consists of an engraved medal, an honorarium (1000 Euros), a certificate and inclusion as a Geochemical Fellow.

It is named in honor of Harold Clayton Urey, an American physical chemist whose pioneering work on isotopes earned him the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1934 and later led him to theories of planetary evolution.

Former recipients of the Urey Award

Comments are closed.