The European Association of Geochemistry, EAG, was officially established in 1985 with the goal of promoting geochemistry internationally and in particular providing a forum for the presentation of geochemistry, exchange of ideas, publications and recognition of scientific excellence. To this aim, the EAG has established several core activities.

Goldschmidt Conference

The main activity of the EAG is the organization of the Goldschmidt Conferences® on odd-numbered years in Europe, in partnership with the Geochemical Society. The Goldschmidt conference is designed as the primary meeting worldwide for the presentation and exchange of scientific ideas in geochemistry.


Early Career Support


Event & Session Sponsorship


The EAG works with many other learned societies to promote geochemistry internationally and has made formal partnership agreements with 15 scientific societies.


EAG Governance

The EAG is run by a Council made of seven officer-councillors and nine to eleven councillors. The officer-councillors include the President, Vice-President, Past-President, Treasurer, Secretary and two Goldschmidt Officers. The Council is chaired by the President. The Presidential cycle is of six years: two as Vice-President, two as President and two as Past-President. The EAG also counts nine committees (two of which are shared with the Geochemical Society). Each Committee Chair is a member of the EAG Council.

Learn more about the EAG, its initiatives and finances in the 2021 EAG Report to Members.