Nominations for the 2020 Awards

Who may submit a nomination?

Anyone may submit a nomination for one of the EAG Awards or for the EAG/GS honorary title of Geochemistry Fellow. The members of the Award Committees and of the EAG Council may not nominate a candidate directly nor write a support letter, but they may actively solicit nominations from others.

Who may be nominated?

Any scientist may be nominated except for:

For which award?

EAG Awards recognize scientists at various stages of their career.

  • The Urey Award recognizes scientists who have made outstanding contributions advancing geochemistry over a career.
    Nominations for this award remain active for three award cycles.
  • The Science Innovation Award recognizes scientists within 30 years from the start of PhD (for the 2020 award, candidates should have started their PhD in 1989 at the earliest) who have recently made a particularly important and innovative breakthrough in geochemistry. The subject area of this award differs every year, following a five-year cycle. In 2020, this award will honour Werner Stumm Medal for his work in low temperature and surface geochemistry.
    Nominations for this award are active for one award cycle.
  • The Houtermans Award recognizes scientists within 12 years from the start of PhD (for the 2020 award, candidates should have started their PhD in 2007 at the earliest) for a single exceptional contribution to geochemistry, published as a single paper or a series of paper on a single topic.
    Nominations for this award will be active for three award cycles, as long as candidates remain eligible.
  • The GS-EAG Geochemistry Fellowship honors outstanding scientists who have made major contributions to the field of geochemistry.
    Nominations for this award remain active for three award cycles.

How to submit a nomination?

To submit a nomination, please send the following documents to the EAG Office at (should you like to send your paperwork by post, please use the address of the EAG Business Office):

  • EAG Nomination Form: download the form as Word document or as fillable PDF (make sure to open it in your PDF application).
  • the principal nominator’s letter describing the contribution(s) the individual has made to geochemistry (up to 2 pages)
  • up to three letters of support (up to 2 pages) (nominations with more than three letters will NOT be accepted)
  • a CV of the candidate (up to 4 pages)
  • a listing of the candidate’s publications (no limit of length)

Here is some useful information about how to write successful Nomination and Support Letters.

What is the nomination deadline?

Your nomination should be sent to the by:

  • 31 October 2019 for the 2020 Geochemistry Fellows Award
  • 15 November 2019 for the 2020 Urey, Science Innovation and Houtermans Awards

What happens next?

After the nomination deadline, the Award Committees shall select a first and second choice for each award, or in the case of Geochemistry Fellows up to ten choices, and present them, with adequate documentation (see how to make a nomination), to the Council. The Council shall then make its final choice between the nominations (members of the Award Committees, EAG Council or GS Board may not vote on any nomination where there is a clear conflict of interest).

Announcement of the awardees will be made at the beginning of the calendar year and the award will be presented at the following Goldschmidt conference.