Science Innovation Award

Bo Thamdrup_180Recipient of the 2017 Science Innovation Award:

Bo Thamdrup, University of Southern Denmark

Bo Thamdrup is professor of geomicrobiology at the Department of Biology, University of Southern Denmark in Odense. Bo completed a M.Sc. in biology and chemistry, and a Ph.D. on the biogeochemical cycling of manganese, iron, and sulfur in marine sediments… Read more

The 2017 EAG Science Innovation Award was named in honor of Heinz Lowenstam for his work in biogeochemistry.

Make a nomination for the 2018 Science Innovation Award, honoring Nicholas Shackleton for his work in climatology, by 15 November 2017

About the EAG Science Innovation Award

The EAG Science Innovation Award recognizes scientists who have recently made a particularly important and innovative breakthrough in geochemistry. The geochemical research must be highly original and contribute in a significant fashion to our understanding of the natural behaviour of the Earth or planets. Such a contribution must be in the form of a widely recognized important piece of innovative scientific research published in a peer-reviewed journal.

The EAG Science Innovation Award is bestowed annually to a scientist within 30 years from the start of PhD, which must be completed. Eligibility is determined by the status of the candidate at the close of the year in which nominations are received and not the year the award is presented; hence, for the 2017 Science Innovation Award, candidates should have started their PhD in 1986 at the earliest.

The award is presented annually at the Goldschmidt Conference. The award consists of an engraved medal, an honorarium (1000 Euros), a certificate and inclusion as a Geochemical Fellow.

The EAG Science Innovation Award is bestowed annually but the subject area differs from year to year, according to the following five-year cycle:

Nicholas Shackleton
Medal honoring his work in climatology
Samuel Epstein Medal honoring his work in isotope geochemistry Werner Stumm Medal honoring his work in low temperature and surface geochemistry Alfred Edward “Ted” Ringwood
Medal honoring his work in petrology and mineral physics
Heinz Lowenstam Medal honoring his work in biogeochemistry

Former recipients of the Science Innovation Award

Comments are closed.